Center for Diversity and Social and Economic Justice

COUNCIL ON SOCIAL WORK EDUCATION

History and Timeline

2004	2006	2008	2010	2011	2013	2014-15
CSWE Executive	Center Steering	Survey and needs	Report based on	Second Center	CSWE President &	Concept Paper
Director Julia	Committee with the	assessment is	Diversity	Steering Committee	Chief Executive	(Updated 2014)
Watkins and Board	Commission for	conducted of all	Conversations:	created to identify	Officer Darla	
of Directors commit	Diversity and Social	accredited social	Diversity,	short- and long-	Spence Coffey	Revision authors
to establishing a	and Economic	work programs and	Critical	term goals: Web	convenes a new	Ruth McRoy (CDSEJ
CENTER ON EQUALITY	Justice (CDSEJ)	programs with	Multiculturalism,	site and Social	work group to	chair)
AND SOCIAL JUSTICE	develops a proposal	diversity centers.	and Oppression:	Justice Day.	create a plan for	Salome Raheim
	for a Center for		Interaction and		the Center	Patricia Saleeby
	DIVERSITY AND SOCIAL	Survey Results	Transformation	Steering Committee	(including plans for	Halaevalu Vakalahi
	& Economic Justice.	Report prepared.		Mimi Abramovitz	sustainability and	Darla Spence Coffey
			<u>Authors</u>	Marcie Lazzari	for carving a unique	Jessica Holmes
	Center Proposal	<u>Authors</u>	Cathryne Schmitz	Karen Fredriksen-	niche among all	Geraldine Meeks
	Author	Mimi Abramovitz	(CSWE Senior	Goldsen	social work diversity	Erin Bascug
	Mimi Abramovitz	Karen Fredriksen-	Scholar)	Jan Ivery, Bernice	centers) and revise	Adrienne Stokes
		Goldsen	Participants from:	Liddie-Hamilton	the 2006 Concept	
	Steering Committee	Jenny Jones	CDSEJ Commission	Patricia Saleeby	Paper.	Search Committee
	Marcie Lazzari	Marcie Lazzari	Diversity Council	Cathryne Schmitz		established to
	James Herbert	James Herbert	Affiliated Groups	Martell Teasley	<u>Workgroup</u>	identify a Center
	Williams	Williams		Mary Tijerina	CDSEJ Members	director. Co-chaired
	Mimi Abramovitz	Halaevalu Vakalahi	Center web site	Halaevalu Vakalahi	(former & current):	by Jenny Jones and
	Diane Elze		created based on	Hilary Weaver	Ruth McRoy	Yolanda C. Padilla.
	Jenny L. Jones	CSWE Diversity	Diversity		Patricia Saleeby	
	Salome Raheim	Conversations	Conversations.	Center web site	Salome Raheim	CSWE President and
	(CDSEJ chair)	initiated by CDSEJ		launched at APM.	Halaevalu Vakalahi	Chief Executive
		and run through				Officer Darla
	CSWE Board of	2010.				Spence Coffey
	Directors accepts					appoints Yolanda C.
	Steering Committee	Social Justice Day				Padilla as inaugural
	plan to establish	Initiative (2009).				director (July 1,
	Center.					2015).